Union Européenne

Douglas Fir

Back to summary

7 • Genetics

During the 1970s and 1980s, Douglas fir benefited, on the government’s initiative, from significant investment on the part of research organisations (INRA, FCBA) to offer genetically improved varieties. This investment resulted in the creation of a first generation of 8 seed orchards which are currently the source of all national production of plants (6 to 7 million per year).

In order to help you design your planting plans, the seed producer Vilmorin has established, with INRA's support, 8 descriptive data sheets (drawn up in French) relating to each of the recommended seed orchards on French soil. A ninth information sheet, "Which Douglas Fir genetic line should I choose?” for its part proposes a simplified usage grid of recommended sources according to site.

Since 2015, France Douglas has also been involved in the Douglas Fir Future programme, undertaken by the government (MAAF), alongside the INRA, the FCBA and the ONF. This new selection programme should result in the creation of seed orchards which respond better to future concerns.

Union Européenne

Le Douglas

retour au sommaire

7 • Génétique

Le douglas a bénéficié au cours des années 70/80, sous l’impulsion de l’Etat, d’un investissement important de la part des organismes de recherche (INRA, FCBA) pour proposer des variétés génétiquement améliorées. Cet investissement a abouti à la création d’une première génération de 8 vergers à graines qui sont aujourd’hui à l’origine de la totalité de la production nationale de plants (6 à 7 millions par an).

Pour vous aider à concevoir vos projets de plantation, le producteur de semences Vilmorin a établi, avec l’appui de l’INRA, 8 fiches descriptives relatives à chacun des vergers à graines recommandés sur le sol français. Une neuvième fiche “Quelle génétique Douglas choisir ? “ propose quant à elle une grille d’utilisation simplifiée des provenances recommandées en fonction des stations.

Depuis 2015, France Douglas est par ailleurs impliquée, au côté de l’INRA, du FCBA et de l’ONF, dans le programme Douglas Avenir, engagé par l’Etat (MAAF). Ce nouveau programme de sélection devrait aboutir à la création de vergers à graines répondant mieux aux préoccupations futures.